Corpses, Death, and Danger – the New Face of Cigarettes

Posted: November 11, 2010 in Breaking News, Smoking
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Example of new cigarette packs in the U.S.

Example of new cigarette packs in the U.S.

 

About two weeks ago, I got really sick.  There are many reasons that I can list here as to how I could have gotten sick… but after going through the list, I felt that it was pretty pitiful, and decided to just say I got fucking sick.

So, my main things were coughing and runny nose.  And my body just rejected me every time I tried to smoke a cigarette.  Of course, I shouldn’t be smoking while on my death bed, but sometimes you just can’t help it when you were smoking as many as I was a day.  Each time I would light up, it would just be a straight 10 minutes of coughing.  I vowed during the end of my sickness to back the fuck off of smoking and figure out something else to do with my time.

Today, I’m smoking about 2-4 cigarettes a day, depending on how much I’m craving them/when they are available.  I’m getting a lot of support from my roommates, and I know it’s only got to be good to quit smoking anyway.  I just really like it… :-/ haha

And now, this new campaign comes out from the Federal Government to post pictures of dead and extremely disgusting smoking effects on cigarette packs… is pretty awesome.  I have a coworker who showed me a pack of cigarettes from another country, and they already had these pictures on there… I was pretty frightened, and it was a little fucked up, but hey… I think that’s what non-smokers think of me when I light up right next to their child.  Trust when I say, I’ve only done this in extreme circumstances, and by child I mean my cousins dog’s new liter… which was weird… I know.

So this is a good thing right?

The proposed requirements, characterized as the biggest change in tobacco health warnings in 25 years, include “nine new larger and more noticeable textual warning statements and color graphic images depicting the negative health consequences of smoking,” the release stated.”

Jesus, the biggest change in 25 years?  We must LOVE our smoking!

“Today, FDA takes a crucial step toward reducing the tremendous toll of illness and death caused by tobacco use by proposing to dramatically change how cigarette packages and advertising look in this country,” FDA Commissioner Margaret Hamburg said.

“When the rule takes effect, the health consequences of smoking will be obvious every time someone picks up a pack of cigarettes. … This is a concrete example of how FDA’s new responsibilities for tobacco product regulation can benefit the public’s health.”

Mathew L. Myers, the president of the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, called the proposed changes “the most significant change in U.S. cigarette warnings since they were first required in 1965.”

Wow, I wonder what the tobacco companies are gonna do?  With so much money invested in certain politicians, furthering their cause.  If no drastic changes have been made since 1965, how big are these giant tobacco companies and who did they fuck to get such swell treatment?

But David Howard, a spokesman for R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co., said the legality of requiring larger, graphic warnings on cigarette packages was already the subject of a lawsuit filed by the maker of Camel and Pall Mall cigarettes.

The suit alleges that the warnings violate the company’s First Amendment rights of commercial, free speech, Howard told CNN in a telephone interview. “Seizing half of our packaging, devaluing our trademarks, we’re challenging that,” he said.

I’m glad that you have your ducks in a row Howard.  Congratufuckinglations… weren’t you on ‘Thank You For Smoking’?… oh no, that was some other douchebag that gets paid to give people the opportunity to end another 6 minutes of their unfortunate lives… at least every time I go to smoke a cigarette, I’ll get to look at a reminder of the effects and will hopefully be influenced to just set the fucking pack down – back away from the fucking pack… dead people on it… people killed by Voldemort… and then I will run, run far away.

 

citing an article listed here: http://www.cnn.com/2010/HEALTH/11/10/cigarette.warnings/index.html?hpt=Sbin

 

Comments
  1. say wat¿ says:

    LOL laughed. interesting concept. people that will smoke will smoke you can put whatever on the pack people will still keep smoking

    • HAHAHAHA Right! I mean, it’s cool that something is being done for those crazy smokers out there… but none the less… these types of cigarette packs are already being sold here that are imported from some foreign countries. In my battle to quit smoking, I don’t think that this will have much impact… I think more people will just start switching to using their own packaging instead of walking around with pictures of dead people in their purses/pockets.

      🙂

      • say wat¿ says:

        my copenhagen says will cause gum cancer, but for some reason i still do it… if there wasnt age limits on this stuff i probably would have never tried it but unfortunately i started when i was 16 because of the “forbidden fruit factor”.

        same with alcohol, and weed. but dont get me started on the weed debate lol.

      • HAHA, I know.. weed. hmmmm. That’s been the big debate here in California… tons of support for it here too.

        I never smoked when I was younger, but totally understand how people fall into this ‘situation’. I started smoking within the last two years, and already feel like shit, so I’m trying to just calm down and get my life and body back to normal.

        🙂 Darryn

  2. say wat¿ says:

    yea ive been watching it along with others all across the country… all my friends were hoping for it to be passed. I hate how politicians dont take it seriously. peoples lives are getting ruined for nothing its harmless and millions of people smoke daily with minimal side effects.

  3. Liam says:

    I smoked in high school to impress my peers but as soon as I graduated and didn’t see those people again, I quit and it was for good since I never really enjoyed it. My dad, on the other hand, smoked since he was eleven all the way to his adulthood. He told me tried to quit many times but failed. It wasn’t until he was diagnosed with testicular cancer and a tiny spot developed in his left lung was the only time it really sunk in to him what smoking was doing to his body and he quit cold turkey. He never puffed a cigarette since then and hates the smell of it to this day. My older sis had her reasons to quit. She was pregnant. But as soon as her child was born, she picked up the habit again without even batting an eye, only to stop again when she got pregnant. I asked her if she could stop for nine months, why couldn’t she do it for the rest of her life. She told me that she had a good reason to stop then but once that reason wasn’t there anymore, she could not help herself. Then, I told her that her other reason could be her own life but she only shrugged at me…and said, “I’m a slave to it.”

Leave a Reply

